Board of Directors

The Board of Directors is comprised of 12 elected members, the Immediate Past President, chapter directors, and the executive director (non-voting member). Elections take place each spring. Terms of service—offset by two years depending on the position—is for two years and commence on July 1.

The President, Executive Vice-President, Conference Vice-President, and three Vice-Presidents are elected in odd-numbered years. The Publications Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and three additional Vice-Presidents are elected in even numbered years. Any officer other than the President shall be eligible to serve two consecutive terms. Election of all officers shall require a plurality of the votes cast by the voting membership.

Each chapter in good standing may appoint a director to the Board to represent the interests of the Chapter.

The Board of Directors sets the policies and strategic directions for the Society. It meets three times per year, holding one-day meetings in the fall and winter, and a two-day retreat in late spring. Details on who is eligible for nomination to the Board, the responsibilities of each position, and elections guidelines can be found in the IS&T bylaws.

Please note that terms begin on July 1, of the first year noted, and end on June 30 of the second.

To contact an IS&T officer, contact them through [email protected].

Current Board of Directors


Susan Farnand (2021 - 2023)
Rochester Institute of Technology
Rochester, NY, US

Executive Vice President

Nicolas Bonnier (2021-2023)
Apple Inc
Cupertino, CA, US


Peter Morovič (2020 - 2024)
HP Inc.
Barcelona, Spain


Ramon Borrell (2022 - 2024) Technology Management
Cambridge, UK

Conference Vice President

Sophie Triantaphillidou (2021-2023)
University of Westminster
London, UK

Publications Vice President

Gaurav Sharma (2022 - 2024)
University of Rochester
Rochester, NY, US

Vice Presidents

Graham Finlayson (2021 - 2023)
University of East Anglia
Norwich, UK

Paul Hubel (2020-2024)
Apple Inc
Cupertino, CA, US

Timo Kunkel (2022-2024)
Dolby Laboratories, Inc.
San Francisco, CA, US

Teruaki Mitsuya (2021 - 2023)
Ricoh Company, Ltd.
Tokyo, Japan

Marius Pedersen (2020-2024)
Gjøvik, Norway

Maria Vanrell (2019-2023)
Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
Bellaterra, Spain 

Immediate Past President

Scott Silence (2021 - 2023)
Corning Corporation
Painted Post, NY, US

Chapter Director

Atsushi Tomotake (2021 - 2023)
Konica Minolta, Inc.
Tokyo, Japan

Rochester, NY
Chapter Director

Roger Triplett (2021- 2022)
Xerox Corporation
Webster, NY, US

Executive Director

Suzanne E. Grinnan 
7003 Kilworth Lane
Springfield, VA US
Phone: (703)-642-9090